First Weigh-in for The Nuggets

I weighed The Nuggets on 6-20-11. They ranged from 13 1/8 ounces to 1 pound and 4 1/2 ounces at 3 weeks old. Currently Violet, my neighbor, thinks we have 3 males and 5 females. Violet has some 6 week old standard chicks, who weighed in last night, at just over 1 pound.

It has been my experience that chicks double in size every week for the first 6 weeks or so. The Nuggets are already the size of chicks twice their age, some are even bigger. It’s really disconcerting.They are shaped weird. Their feet and shanks are almost as big, if not AS big, as my laying hens. It’s creepy. Their poop smells weird too.

Don’t mistake me, it’s not a terrible experience or anything so far. It’s just not like raising other breeds AT ALL.

This entry was posted in chicks, Meat. Bookmark the permalink.