2011 Cornish Cross Week 5 Update

The last few days have been very hot! In the upper 90’s with heat indexes in the 100’s and brutal sun. During our 5 wk weigh in our birds ranged from 2lbs 10.5 oz to 4 lbs 1 oz. We’ve been having some trouble keeping the waterer full, so I devised a little shade near the door to the tractor so that we could just reach in and grab it instead of having to crawl inside.  However, it never occurred to me that they would have to cross a patch of sunlight in order to get to the new location of the water. They were very reluctant to do that. The heat on Sunday was more than they could take without intervention. I was working at my second job, but luckily my awesome neighbors came to the rescue and put a fan and mister on the miserable little Nuggets. And moved the waterer back into the shade. Unfortunately we lost the largest of them, the one who weighed in over 4 lbs at 5 weeks old. He was one of only two roos we have in the meat flock. His mark was left wing. He was already in rigor when my neighbor found him, so into the compost he will go.

RIP Left Wing Roo.

The weigh in for week six is tomorrow night. It’s also my partner’s birthday tomorrow so I probably won’t get the numbers up right away.

This entry was posted in chickens, Meat. Bookmark the permalink.