Week 6 & 7 Weigh In for Cornish Cross

It’s still really hot here in the midwest. My neighbors and I have decided that next year we will get meat chicks in Aug so that they will have plenty of heat when they need it and it will begin to cool off as they grow.

I was busy last week and didn’t get the 6 wk weigh in up on the blog 😦 So today you get the numbers from last week and yesterday.

Week 6:

Our lightest bird weighed in at 3 lbs and 6 1/8 ounces and the heaviest at 4 pounds and 13 ounces. They averaged .91 pounds per bird that week!

Week 7:

Our lightest bird weighed in at 4 lbs and 8 7/8 ounces and the heaviest was over 6 pounds. My scale only goes to 6lbs so I don’t know his actual weight. They averaged 1.08 pounds per bird that week! What was originally the heaviest of our remaining birds has dropped down to the second to lightest spot (2 of 7, when going from lightest to heaviest), while our remaining male has moved from spot 5 to spot 7. I’m not sure if I made a mistake or not, but the bird that was sick two weekends ago has actually lost weight this week dropping from 4lbs 13 ounces to 4lbs 11 ounces.

 

Currently our costs are up to $13.83 per bird, not including water or electricity to run the fan or costs for their housing structure.

This entry was posted in Meat. Bookmark the permalink.